October 16, 2017
77 Guests and 5 Members Online


Blahzay Roze

Our Rating
User Rating
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
2.36 is the average user rating.
14 people have voted.

At Gathering 17, it was announced that the newest addition to the Psychopathic roster would be the female newcomer Blahzay Roze. Blahzay previously had no traces of music on the internet, and was a virtually unknown artist, similar to older signings by Psychopathic. With this feat comes both positive and negative reactions. Thankfully, an album (although only an EP) was released at the same time during her debut, titled Broken. Except for the intro, this is a 6 track EP to give the world a taste of Blahzay.

1.    Intro
2.    Broken
3.    White Lights
4.    Bulimic Becky
5.    Raped at 15
6.    Tommy
7.    The Toolbox

A bit of background info on Blahzay Roze is required before even jumping into the EP. Firstly, as mentioned, she was basically an unknown artist that Violent J found through online match making. After discovering that she had an artistic talent, he signed her to Psychopathic right away. Her backstory, whether completely true or partially a gimmick, is shown throughout Broken.

Her essence consists of a rough upbringing, troubled teenage years, and a struggling adult life. The themes throughout the EP is quite consistent though, and is filled with various attempts at sympathy. Some of it may be too straightforward for the normal listener, while some of it may just come off as being brutally honest.

The main track from the EP is “Broken” and is actually vastly different from the rest of the EP. Her lyrics in the song is a good introduction to her character as a whole, but it all boils down to the same concept. Filled with taking pills, thoughts of suicide, self-harm, and regrettable decisions, “Broken” is the solidified story of someone whose life is riddled with depression. To an extent, Blahzay almost glorifies the actions, or for a better saying, boldly creates a scene without hesitation. It ranges from losing the ability to cry, consistently cutting herself, having sex with a heroin dealer, taking large amounts of drugs short of an overdose, and overall being depressed. The rest of the songs on this EP focuses on one main topic, but “Broken” is a vague track about herself.

The music itself is pretty heavy and almost industrial like, which may or may not be a coincidence to the Nine Inch Nails 1992 EP Broken, although obviously not as good. The influences of various industrial rock artists is clearly shown in “Broken” as the beat is filled with light drum patterns, a crunch heavy guitar riff in the chorus, and a simplistic keyboard line. The instrumental aspects of the song is probably the heaviest throughout the EP; however, that also makes it the most tolerable out of all the tracks.

“White Lights” continues the trend of the sympathizing depression theme. Lyrically, she describes herself being kidnapped and assaulted. She describes in straightforward details of the scenario, and seeing the white lights compared to a blackout. Although this is a very different lyrical approach to anything Psychopathic has put out, it seems hard to grasp a story that begs for both awareness and repeated listenings. It’s not a great mashup of the two goals. Her melody throughout the chorus isn’t terrible, but her singing could use some more fine tuning. The beat itself is vastly different from the previous song, and is more mellowed out except for various scratches and sounds during the chorus.

The next song which yet again continues the trend is “Bulimic Becky” and is quite a misleading title. The song title is a nod towards her old nickname, and doesn’t actually mean she is bulimic. Being bulimic is the constant struggle with having to force purging whether it’s because of stressful situations or a desire for weight loss, and is a continued cycle.

“Raped at 15” is, as expected, a downer track. Although she isn’t exactly glorifying the lyrical content, some people would consider it to be too much info. It’s a track that nobody is going to blast at full volume, and on that note, not much else needs to be explained. “Tommy” is a basic story telling of revenge and the only high point is her attempt at singing; however, she needs some solidified practice to get her tone right.

The closing track is “The Toolbox” which is basically a spoken word song. The track deserves credit for being vastly different than anything else that Psychopathic has put out. Unfortunately, even though her poetic lyrics aren’t horrible, it’s nothing to put on repeat. It’s another scene by scene story in which she is the victim yet again, and has become a tiresome subject at this point. It’s not as vulgar as the other tracks, but it still raises eyebrows anyway. The backing track is slow with subtle noises throughout and not much else can be expected from a spoken word track such as this. With that being said, for better or worse, “The Toolbox” is a monumental moment for the label in its delivery.

As everyone has noticed by now, Blahzay Roze is a hit or miss artist for anyone listening. Some might relate to her subjects, but they would either embrace it or loathe it, thus her lyrics can not be perceived in a neutral view. There are some standout tracks in regards to the music though, and she shows promise by blending industrial rock with rapcore. Realizing the fact that this is her debut, and not taking into consideration any other drama or backstory of her signing to Psychopathic, it’s not a repeatable album by any means. Then again, maybe raising eyebrows and creating rabid discussion is one of the main goals afterall, regardless of how poor some of the songs came out to be. It can be seen as an ultimate success, if that is the case.


  • 24 Minutes 08 Seconds

Record Label:

  • Psychopathic Records

Release Date:

  • 08/19/2016





Enjoy the article so far? Recommend it to your friends and peers.


Be the first to our articles and get the latest updates.

facebook comments:

No comments yet

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Faygoluvers is Hosted by : HostingSwift.Com