April 19, 2019
87 Guests and 6 Members Online

The Only Solution

Cold 187um

Our Rating
User Rating
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
3.71 is the average user rating.
21 people have voted.

Cold 187um’s debut album under Psychopathic Records does a great job of portraying him as “The Psychopathic Assassin”.  This is one of those albums that you listen all the way through because each track is like a chapter of a bigger story.  It begins with Cold 187um (a.k.a Big Hutch) depicting his childhood as performing hits and robberies with his father and his uncle, the “Black Swan”.  The “Black Swan” ends up killing his father in the first track which plants the seed for the rest of the album.   The following tracks follow Cold 187um around the country as he performs hits assigned by “The Company” on mobsters, judges, politicians, and other corrupt groups as he tries to hunt down the “Black Swan” and execute him.  It features Psychopathic beats from (to name a few) Twiztid’s “Mostasteless”, Dark Lotus’ “Black Rain”, and ICP’s “Riddlebox”.

Cold 187um was the main act of “Above The Law” who signed with Ruthless Records in late 1989.  Thier first album “Livin’ Like Hustlers” was co-produced by Dr. Dre in 1990.  Cold 187um parted ways with Ruthless in 1996 and was brought on by Suge Knight as head producer for Death Row Records.  After going solo for several years, Cold 187um hooked-up with ICP in 2001 when the duo covered the “Above The Law” song “Murder Rap” on “The Wraith: Shangri-La”.  In 2011, he toured with the Insane Clown Posse, Twiztid, and Blaze Ya Dead Homie as part of the American Psychos tour.  After the tour, Psychopathic Records announced that Cold 187um had signed with them and would release “The Only Solution” in 2012.

Track listing
1.   Born 2 Kill

2.   Job Well Done

3.   Layn’ Low

4.   An Offer I Can’t Refuse

5.   Swan Song

6.   Judgement Day

7.   L.A.

8.   3 Brothers

9.   Swan Sighting

10.   Capitol Hill

11.   Interrogation

12.   Alive & Free

Track by track review and rating 

1.     Born 2 KillIntro track to a Dark Lotus beat.  Sets the back-story for the rest of the album. 8/10

2.     Job Well Done:  This is a tale of the assassination of a crooked preacher. 6/10

3.     Layn’ Low: I really like this one.  It is set to one of my favorite Twiztid beats (“So High”).  It is about Cold 187um “Layin Low” and layin’ pipe in Vegas. 9/10

4.     An Offer I Can’t Refuse: If you don’t know this Twiztid beat, I am surprised you are on this website!!  It is one of Mostasteless’ greatest hits.  “The Company” orders a hit on a New York mobster. 9/10

5.     Swan SongTracking the “Black Swan” takes Cold 187um to Atlantic City to avenge his father’s death (where it is raining, black rain).  9/10

6.     Judgement DayThe Psychopathic Assassin takes a private contract to take out a bitch-ass judge that is heavy with the gavel. 7/10

7.     L.A. This is a feel-good song of Cold 187um returning to his home town.  West Side!!! 7/10

8.     3 Brothers“Who’s Goin…”.  Enough said!!  This song is a fresh rap to the classic ICP beat we ALL know!!! 10/10

 9.    Swan SightingStill tracking the “Black Swan”, Cold 187um travels to Chicago and gets setup by a scandalous bitch. 7/10

10.   Capitol HillA little beat you might recognize from “The Green Book”.  “The Company” orders a high-stakes assassination of a Senator in D.C.. 8/10

11.    InterrogationLove the beat, but this is skit. N/A

12.   Alive & FreePsychopathic albums always end the same way, with a fresh meaningful song.  This one is no different.  8/10

Overall Album Rating:  7/10

Conclusion:  This album was a great debut for Cold 187um.  He definitely has rap skills.  I am just anxious to hear him with his own beats.

Favorite Tracks:

  1. Layn' Low
  2. Swan Song
  3. 3 Brothers


  • 49 Minutes 24 Seconds

Record Label:

  • Psychopathic Records

Release Date:

  • 10/22/2012




Enjoy the article so far? Recommend it to your friends and peers.


Be the first to our articles and get the latest updates.

facebook comments:

    Faygoluvers Comments



    Comment posted on Thursday, November 1st, 2012 07:46 am GMT -5 at 7:46 am

    I agree, they schooled this concept.

    I realize he has alot of other shit out, I meant I am anxious to hear him on his own beats produced in the Lotus Pod.

  2. Felix_Strange


    Comment posted on Wednesday, February 27th, 2013 10:53 pm GMT -5 at 10:53 pm

    I loved his Above The Law jams so I bought this album and was Impressed with his flow on the beats I grew up loving. With all the unwarranted hate toward The Psychopathic Assassin, I unfortunately don’t see many Fam giving him a fair chance .

You must be logged in to post a comment.