July 18, 2019
66 Guests and 2 Members Online

A World Upside Down

DJ Clay

Our Rating
User Rating
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (9 votes, average: 4.33 out of 5)

DJ Clay got his start with Psychopathic Records by working’ the turntables at all their biggest parties and events. One day he was working’ the party scene in Southwest Detroit, the next he was the man behind the music at the Big Balla Xmas Partys, the JCW Cancer Charity Event covered by Fox News, and Twiztid’s Man’s Myth CD Release Party. In fact, he’s melted the wax at nearly every Detroit-area Psychopathic party over the last eight years. In 2006, Shaggy 2 Dope took DJ Clay to the next level, when he asked him to be his personal, live DJ on the F.T.F.O Tour. Clay was the man for the job, and freaked it for the Juggalos on every date of the tour. The Hatchet had found a match, and soon ICP together asked Clay to DJ all their tours. To date, he’s been on over 10 Nationwide tours including The Tempest, Toxic Terror, Bang Pow Boom!, Happy Daze, World of Webs and 5 Hallowickeds! By the end of 2010, he’d also contributed to over 5 Psychopathic albums. It was only a matter of time before he set up his wheels of steel in the Lotus Pod, and the whole Hatchet family kept him workin’ as a scratcher, a producer, a remixer, and all-around vinyl vandal! His album credits with Psychopathic artists include: ICP The Tempest, Twiztid Independents Day and W.I.C.K.E.D, Boondox Punkinhead, and Psychopathics From Outer Space Part 3.
With all this work is shining like diamonds he released the Let ‘Em Bleed Mixxtapes. Scoopin’ up all the Hatchet flavor he can find and mixing together in his own style. These Mixxtapes bring a whole new sound to all new music from the voices you’ve grown to love: Violent J, Shaggy 2 Dope, Madrox, Monoxide, Blaze, Boondox , A.B.K, and the Axe Murder Boyz plus The R.O.C. , Esham , 3-6 Mafia , King Gordy, Bizzare of D12 , Tech N9NE and many more heavyweights in the underground. That’s an impressive resume, with homies like that, and his owns skills at producing, mixing, and scratching, The DJ Clay: Let ‘Em Bleed Mixxtapes are the bomb! Bomb enough to be the first releases from the Hatchet House, with the whole Hatchet Family together on these Mixxtapes! His next Mixxtape series – Book of the Wicked, took on a darker feel to showcase nothing’ but the Wickedness that the Hatchet has to offer.

Track listing

1. Beginning (Intro)
2. Goblin- ICP
3. Let Me Be- Anybody Killa
4. Don’t Push Me- Myzery
5. Wrong N Tough- Blaze Ya Dead Homie
6. I’m So Fresh Ft Cold 187um- Legz Diamond & The Purple Gang
7. Siri (Skit)
8. When I’m Clownin Ft Kreyshawn (CeeMix)- ICP
9. Officer Hatchet- Violent J
10. Ferris Wheel- Whitney Peyton
11. **k It Up Clay (Skit)
12. L.A. (Origional Mix)- Cold 187um
13. Shaggy Needs Love (Skit)
14. In The Cloud- Kottonmouth Kings
15. Ride Slow- Drive By
16. SKREEEM Ft Tech N9ne & Hopsin (Joe Strange Remix)- ICP
17. The End (Outro)

Track by track review and rating

1. Beginning (Intro)- Basic intro with a nice display of his scratching skill. A good beginning to the CD. 8/10
2. Goblin- ICP– A slower beat allows Violent J and Shaggy to use their talents effectively. This is a much more solid track than a lot of what we have heard from ICP in recent years. A nice theme to the track and good hook round the track out nicely. 9/10
3. Let Me Be– Anybody Killa- Killa never disappoints and this track is no exception. The beat is perfect for his delivery and style. Reminds the listener what ABK can do with the right beats. 8/10
4. Don’t Push Me- Myzery– A nice surprise in this mixtape with Myzery making a solid track. The hook is a clip from 2 Pac’s track Hail Mary which flows well with the track. 8/10
5. Wrong N Tough– Blaze Ya Dead Homie- A slightly different beat for Blaze on this track. His flow works well over it and the theme in this mixtape of Clay giving an artist the right beat for the track continues. 9/10
6. I’m So Fresh Ft Cold 187um- Legz Diamond & the Purple Gang– It is no secret Legz Diamond is a hit or miss for most Juggalos. In this case a track that was a miss for some on his CD can become enjoyable with the addition of Cold 187um and a slight change to the music backing the track. Not sure if this track holds up to the rest of the album. 6/10
7. Siri (Skit)- A funny skit that breaks up the CD at the right time. Who argues with Siri really?! N/A
8. When I’m Clownin Ft Kreyshawn (CeeMix)- ICP– A remix of a track off of Mighty Death Pop. The beat is more involved and makes this slightly more enjoyable than the original. Still not quite sure why Kreyshawn is on this track as she does not add a lot with her verse. 7/10
9. Officer Hatchet– Violent J- A new Violent J solo track! A good story about a cop turned vigilante. A good solo effort from the Duke of the Wicked. The hook brings the track down though. 7/10
10. Ferris Wheel– Whitney Peyton- A fresh beat and hook make this track pop from the start. Whitney Peyton shows why she is a force to be reckoned with in the underground. Her verses are well performed and the hook is just vicious. 10/10
11. **k It Up Clay (Skit)- This skit gives us a great look at DJ Clay the DJ. He shows off his skills and we get a good little humor drop from Shaggy at the end. 8/10
12. L.A. (Original Mix)- Cold 187um- Cold 187um/Big Hutch is another controversial figure on the label. Some Juggalos dig his flow and flavor and some don’t. This is a great example of why ICP signed him to the label. Great flow and a West coast beat allow listeners to see his abilities shine. 9/10
13. Shaggy Needs Love (Skit)- The Shaggy comedy tour continues in this. All you need to know is Shaggy covers the Chi-Lites Have you Seen Her. This one should not be skipped. 8/10
14. In The Cloud- Kottonmouth Kings– Dope beat + KMK + DJ Clay = Dope track. Nothing ground breaking here just KMK killing a DJ Clay beat. 8/10
15. Ride Slow– Drive By- Not a beat you would expect Drive By to rap over. ABK’s verses are good and Blaze holds it down well. A good track by Drive by but definitely not their best effort. 7/10
16. SKREEEM Ft Tech N9ne & Hopsin (Joe Strange Remix)- ICP- This was one of the best tracks on Mighty Death Pop because of the featured artists. Clay slows the beat way down, makes it dark and wicked, and allows the verses to shine. This is a great example of how changing the beat can change the whole feel of a track. 9/10
17. The End (Outro)- Very simple and basic outro. N/A

Overall Album Rating: 8/10

Conclusion: His 7th official mixtape on Psychopathic Records does not disappoint. The one track that doesn’t seem to fit is I’m so Fresh by Legz Diamond and Clay even made that track sound better. This album shows how far DJ Clay has come and why Psychopathic Records brought him on board. He added a lot of new tracks to these artists and also made a lot of positive changes to some older tracks by the artists as well. DJ Clay is worth the investment with this CD.

Favorite Tracks:

  1. Ferris Wheel- Whitney Peyton
  2. Goblin- ICP
  3. SKREEEM Ft Tech N9ne & Hopsin


  • 46 Minutes

Record Label:

  • Psychopathic Records

Release Date:

  • 06/04/2013





Enjoy the article so far? Recommend it to your friends and peers.


Be the first to our articles and get the latest updates.

facebook comments:

    Faygoluvers Comments

  1. lypo

    Comment posted on Thursday, June 20th, 2013 07:45 pm GMT -5 at 7:45 pm

    Agreed solid cd. My one complaint was that there was no Clay solo track.

  2. juggalotus0069


    Comment posted on Friday, June 21st, 2013 01:54 am GMT -5 at 1:54 am

    I agree. Wanted a few Clay solo tracks but I love what he did with the beats and remixes.

  3. Yodiwetj4l


    Comment posted on Friday, November 3rd, 2017 07:23 pm GMT -5 at 7:23 pm

    Man I been tryna find a way to download the album for free I can’t even find a way to download the single songs by themselves

You must be logged in to post a comment.