June 1, 2020
23 Guests and 1 Member Online

Vacation Dayz

Origix and DC

Our Rating
User Rating
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

Origix and D.C. are a rap duo out of Detroit, Michigan. Since Origix and D.C. met in Jr. High School in September of 1993 their passion for hip hop music was undeniable; influenced by the golden era of Hip Hop, when Skills and variety where important, way before any Detroit Artist was known as a major player in the music industry. Origix & D.C. had to take matters into their own hands to participate in a culture they lived and believed in so much. Forming a group together in 1995, they created albums on cassette tapes and mixes at home, also getting on-site experiences of marketing a record by selling tapes to friends throughout metro Detroit High Schools. After graduation, the duo advanced to more professional studios, while gaining experience playing Midwest show dates they worked hard to secure funds to press and distribute their product. The two, known as dedicated fans and artists of Detroit music needed to find another outlet to get others and themselves heard by the masses.
In 2002 Origix & D.C. took a break from recording their own music, putting their focus into enrolling in a Radio program at 89.3 WHFR.FM at Henry Ford Community College, the only radio station in the Detroit area who gave them any kind of air time. Taking the right steps and accomplishing the required courses to be a part of Whfr.fm staff they were given a time slot. It was now the time to let others hear the talent Origix & D.C. have supported for so long. On April 20th of 2002 The Zone Radio was born on the far end of the FM Dial in a time when commercial radio was changing even more drastically than before. Origix & D.C Felt like it was their calling and mission to expose what Real Hip Hop still is. Guest’s on The Zone range from Talib Kweli, Cypress Hill, Yukmouth, Tech N9ne, The Kottonmouth Kings, Kid Cudi, Bizzy Bone, Slug of Atmosphere and Twizitid , Just to name a few. For Two hours every Monday night listeners are able to hear a new pay list of independent music, news, live performance and information about artist’s. Aside from being on air, The Zone has put on some legendary events around Michigan With the demand and expansion of the Internet Origix & D.C. have established www.2raw4fm.com where they host uncut podcast mixes and rebroadcast their online Live Video show 2RAW4M on Psychopathic Records radio station Psychopathic Radio worldwide the site serves as the home of anything their involved in.
In 2006 Origix & D.C. felt a void was missing in their life so they went back in the studio to record their perceptive on the rap game. Since The two childhood friends have seen a lot and came a long way, they feel they have something new to offer to Hip hop fan’s and youth of today with the knowledge they gained. So Origix & D.C. in 2009 released “The Resume” an album that showcases the way they lay down rhymes and produce music. The Resume is a lyrical background check that provides proof these to veterans of Detroit hip hop still have what it takes to be relevant in today’s flooded talent pool. Since the release of The Resume Origix & D.C. has performed on stage with many other artists such as A.B.K., Blaze Ya Dead Homie , Potluck, Bizarre and many more as well as performing @ The Gathering Of Juggalos . In 2012 the duo released “Work experience” an album that shows their growth as a artist and the direction they plan to take with future music.

Track listing

1. Intro
2. Vaca
3. Rotation Ft Ajax
4. Consequences
5. Building Ft Sixx Digit
6. Oxygen Ft Dagda
7. Traffic Remix

Track by track review and rating

1. Intro– Very short clip from National Lampoons Vacation. N/A
2. Vaca– A smooth beat and backing in this track. The verses are well written and performed. The hook is simple and mellow but it helps the track. 8/10
3. Rotation Ft Ajax– A nice old school beat in this one. The hook is a clip from Friday and seems like it was forced into this track. The addition of Ajax works well and his verse adds to the tracks flow. 6/10
4. Consequences– Another simple beat. The verses are good. The hook needed to have the levels worked better. 6/10
5. Building Ft Sixx Digit– The beat seems so familiar but is a slower more purposeful beat. A very well put together track that has really nice flow between the verses and the hook. 8/10
6. Oxygen Ft Dagda– A really slow beat backs this track. There is a slight disconnect between the first verse and the beat. They don’t quite match up right. The hook also seems out of place and not well recorded. Both of these things really bring the track down. The guest verse works well and shows that fast rap can work on the beat. 5/10
7. Traffic Remix– A decent beat and verses make this track alright. It is a definite improvement over the last one for sure. 7/10

Overall Album Rating: 6.5/10

Conclusion: This is a very short 23 minute EP. Fans of their album Work Experience will feel like the guys are missing a step with this one. With this being a free album it is worth picking up and seeing if you can find a few tracks you like. Hopefully this is not a sign of a new less enjoyable direction.

Favorite Tracks:

  1. Vaca
  2. Building Ft Sixx Digit


  • 23 Minutes

Record Label:

  • 2Raw4Fm.com

Release Date:

  • 05/07/2013





Enjoy the article so far? Recommend it to your friends and peers.


Be the first to our articles and get the latest updates.

No comments yet

You must be logged in to post a comment.